Micron visits campus to announce MSU’s status as a "Key School"

Boise-based Micron Technologies, one of the world’s largest manufacturers of computer
memory, announced last week it is adding the electrical and computer engineering department
at Montana State University’s College of Engineering to its "key school" program.

By MSU News Service Bozeman Chronicle

The ECE department joins MSU’s computer science program and programs at nine other
universities that have key school status with Micron Technologies.

Micron is increasing its scholarship program at MSU and will provide three new ECE
scholarships this year, bringing to nine the number of MSU engineering and computer science
scholarships from Micron Technology.

MSU’s computer science department gained Micron key school status in 2000. Next year, the
total number of MSU Micron scholars will grow to 12. MSU Micron Scholarship juniors receive
$3,200 per year, renewable for their senior year of study at MSU.

The company is also a prime recruiter for MSU students.

"Micron is the No. 1 manufacturer of computer memory in the entire world and we are very
proud that they have singled out MSU for this prestigious program," said Robert Marley,
engineering dean.

In addition to scholarships, Micron’s support for MSU includes a vigorous internship program
and a growing in-kind gift program.

"Micron aggressively recruits MSU engineers and computer scientists and has high praise for
our students’ work ethic, technical abilities, and superior decision-making skills," Marley said.

"Micron has always been very strategic with its giving resources," said Dan Spangler, Micron’s
university relations manager.

Computer science students Kevin Halverson of Pendroy, Bonnie Kirkpatrick of Dillon and
Jeremy Wiedemann of Kalispell are former Micron scholars renewing for the coming school
year. Micron will award new computer science scholarships to Clint Frederickson of Chester,
Angela Kimmel of Twin Falls, Idaho, and Brad Pascoe of Butte.

MSU electrical and computer engineering department students who will receive Micron
Scholarships for the coming year are Cory Steinmetz of Helena, Jason Brandt of Belgrade and
Scott Warnick of Fort Shaw.

Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.